Tag Archives: alcohol

Bailey’s Almande Review

This product review was written 20.06.12, while COVID lock down restrictions were just beginning to ease. Please excuse any reference/joke that’s no longer relevant.


This is the last post of 2020!

As per last year, I will be taking the last half of December, and first half of January off from posting.

Posting will resume on January 15th, which will be the 1st Throw Away Fic of the new year!

I hope you all enjoy your holiday festivities, and get some much needed rest after what a crazy year this has been.

I’ll see you guys in the new year!


Now that we’ve made it to the end of the year, I thought it fitting to make the last product review a celebratory one. Because let’s be honest, 2020 was not what anyone expected, and we definitely deserve to have a (socially-distanced) party.

And what better way to say ‘party’ than to booze-it-up?

I’ve never had ‘real’ Baileys before, so I wasn’t too sure what to expect from this. Some of the Youtube reviews I saw said it just tasted like almond milk. I figured how bad could it be?

AterImber.com - The Veg Life - Product Reviews - Bailey's Almande - vegan booze, vegan alcohol, surprising vegan alcohol

Baileys Almond is 13% alcohol, which is way above my usual 5-7% Smirnoff Ice and Blackflys. I tried it by itself initially, to see if it really needed to be added to something else. Immediately, I tasted regular almond milk, but when I swallowed, I got that familiar burn-in-your-throat ‘this is alcohol’ taste. It was a lot stronger than what I was expecting.

To actually drink it, I mixed it 2 shots of it into a regular cup (500ml) of Silk Chocolate Almond, and after mixing it with the drink, that burning alcohol taste completely disappeared. It just tasted like a regular glass of Silk.

Buzz wise, it was pretty good but it did end up giving me a headache. (Maybe I just drank it too fast/have a low tolerance?)

All in all, I would say that if you like almond milk, you’ll definitely enjoy it, and if you need a boozy vegan creamer, I think this would work pretty well.

They don’t make small bottles of it, though, which kind of sucks, because the 750ml bottle is $33, so if you don’t end up liking it, you’ll be stuck with a lot.

Or at least, you’ll have to throw another party so you’re not stuck with it.


Like this review? Check out more here!

Liking the site? Consider signing up for my Patreon, so I can continue bringing you the content you love!

Surprising Vegan Alcohol

The holidays are fast approaching and that means one thing: Parties.

If you’re vegan, the holidays are hard enough: dealing with family members asking questions, ‘joking’ about veganism with you, and let’s not forget the giant, dead sentient being in the middle of the table. While I’m not saying alcohol is the answer, you can’t deny having a drink might make the holidays that much more bearable.

Or, perhaps, you’re hosting a party, and know a vegan is coming, and want them to at least have some sort of drink option other then water. (And are freaking out because you don’t know what to look for)

Whatever the reason you’re here, you can rest easy knowing the below are vegan-friendly (even though they don’t say on the bottle).

AterImber.com - The Veg Life - Surprising Vegan Alochol - Vegan Drinks

Here is a list of the alcohol pictured, starting in the top left corner and continuing clockwise:

  • Smirnoff Ice
  • Guinness Original*
  • Guinness Draught
  • Guinness Extra Stout
  • Guinness Foreign Stout
  • Mill Street Lager
  • Mike’s Hard Lemonade**
  • Stella Artois
  • Stella 4%
  • Blackfly Grape***
  • Blackfly Sour Cherry
  • Blackfly Orange
  • Jaw Drop Gushing Grapes****
  • Jaw Drop Puckering Punch
  • Jaw Drop Sucking Lemons
  • Jaw Drop Tickling Pink
  • Jaw Drop Licking Limes
  • Jaw Drop Flashing Peaches
  • Jaw Drop Squirting Oranges
  • Smirnoff Ice Raspberry
  • Smirnoff Ice Green Apple
  • Bailey’s Almande
  • Corona
  • Absolut Vodka*****

As you can see from the above list, there are many different types of alcohol that vegans can drink, even if they’re not marketed as ‘vegan’. Hopefully, this list helps you out with your future holiday planning, and if you’re a vegan going to a party and you’re not sure if there will be drinks you can have, keep your eye out for one of the above.

Have a drink that’s not on this list you’re wondering might be vegan? Check out Barnivore.com for a more complete list of vegan alcohol. The cool thing about them, is they don’t only tell you what’s vegan, they also tell you what’s not.


Check out the rest of the Surprising Vegan series here!

*From Guinness’ FAQs: Yes, it is (vegan) from the keg format for now. Our new filtration process has removed the use of isinglass as a means of filtration and vegans can now enjoy a pint of Guinness.

All Guinness Draught in keg format is brewed without using isinglass. Full distribution of bottle and can formats will be in place by the end of 2017, so until then, our advice to vegans is to consume the product from the keg format only for now.

**Mike’s Hard Lemonade LITE contains honey

***All Blackfly flavours are vegan! I e-mailed the company and was very pleased to hear the news. The flavours pictured are the only ones I’ve been able to find (in Canada)

****All Jaw Drop flavours are also vegan! As said in this tweet, straight from the company. The flavours pictured are (again), the only ones I’ve found

*****A note on Barnivore from 2014 says the owner of Absolut is a ‘major funder of bullfighting’ (No update as of posting)

Liking the site? Consider signing up for my Patreon, so I can continue bringing you the content you love!