Just like with the other additions of this series, I’m beginning to notice that while there are more offerings than before, there’s still pretty pitiful amounts of vegan food available at non-vegan fast food places.
Seriously, didn’t these guys get the memo?
Luckily though, it makes it easier to do these types of posts because it takes way less time to research the ingredients than it does for the Surprising Vegan series.
Starting in the top left corner, going clockwise:
- Beyond Meat Burger*
- Beyond Sausage and Egger*
- Russet Thick Cut Fries
- Sweet Potato Fries
- Root Beer Lollipops**
- Root Beer**
- Iced Tea
- Apple Juice
- Orange Juice
*In case you missed it when it was announced, the Beyond Meat burger is not vegan upon ordering. You need to clarify that you would like it with out the mayo or mustard.
The Beyond Sausage and Egger is also (unfortunately) not vegan upon ordering. For the Sausage and Egger, you actually have to ask them to hold the egg and cheese. The margarine they use is actually vegan-friendly! And, you can also always get the Beyond Meat Sausage and Veggie instead. (That one the whole thing is vegan, but it’s listed on the website under the Beyond Sausage and Egger)
**Okay, so this is a bit of a weird thing I discovered. For the Root Beer, it listed ‘Colour (Caramel IV)’ and me being the curious person I am, decided to Google what that was. In my Googling (it was actually pretty much the first thing that popped up) I discovered that this colouring wasn’t vegan, either. (If you don’t feel like clicking through, it was tested on rats and mice to see if it was toxic)
Some of the other names this Caramel IV goes by include:
- Caramel Colour
- Ammonia sulfite process caramel
- Sulfite ammonia caramel
- Sulfite ammonia process caramel
- Acid-proof caramel
- Beverage caramel
- Soft-drink caramel
I’ll sadly be adding this to the list of other food dyes that are tested on animals and doing my best to avoid it. (Thank God I don’t drink pop!)
*** The Lemonade is vegan, but there was no picture available.
Well there you go!
There’s juuuust enough vegan food available so that you won’t starve if there’s nothing else around. And hey, at least they’ve got a burger option now!
Like this article? Check out more here!