Tag Archives: vff

Vegan Fast Food: Subway Edition

Some people don’t include Subway as a fast food place, because what they serve is more healthy then usual, but I say it’s called ‘fast food’, not ‘unhealthy food’.

Also, as vegans, we don’t really have the luxury of leaving places off our lists of acceptable places to eat.

Luckily though, Subway is pretty much a vegans’ dream because they have a lot of vegetables, and it’s pretty reasonably priced.

AterImber.com - The Veg Life - Vegan Tips - Vegan Fast Food - Subway Sandwich Edition - vegan food, fast food, Subway Canada, sandwiches, vegan tips, vegan food, what vegans eat, food blogger

In order, starting in the top left corner:

  • Ciabatta
  • Italian White Bread
  • Tortilla Wrap
  • Banana Peppers
  • Cucumber
  • Green (Bell) Pepper
  • Jalapeno Pepper
  • Pickles
  • Lettuce
  • Green Olives
  • Black Olives
  • Red Onion
  • Tomato
  • Falafel
  • Veggie Patty*
  • Beyond Meat Meatball
  • Avocado Puree
  • Guacamole
  • Black Bean Soup
  • Lays Classic
  • Lays Oven Baked Classic
  • AquaFina Water
  • Pepsi
  • Brisk Lemon Iced Tea
  • Pure Leaf Lemon Iced Tea
  • G2 Fruit Punch (Contains Red 40)
  • Tropicana Orange Juice
  • Subway Coffee

There were also some vegan options I wasn’t able to find pictures for. The not-picture vegan options are:

  • Hearty Italian Bread
  • Roasted Garlic Bread
  • Grilled Onions and Peppers
  • House Sandwich Sauce (Zesty Italian)
  • Mustard (Deli Brown)
  • Mustard (Yellow)
  • Sweet Onion Sauce
  • Mediterranean Soup

*Some restaurants have a veggie patty that contains egg and/or milk. Please ask before ordering.

I was surprised to learn that Subway offered coffee, and that so many of their sauces are vegan! Every time I’ve gone previously, I never got any sauce, unless they had ketchup. I thought I’d be cursed with eating dry sandwiches forever, but now I’m excited to try some sauces!

I also recommend asking the store what they have, as not every location always has every option available.


Check out the rest of the Vegan Fast Food series here!

Liking the site? Consider signing up for my Patreon, so I can continue bringing you the content you love!

Vegan Fast Food: A&W Edition

Just like with the other additions of this series, I’m beginning to notice that while there are more offerings than before, there’s still pretty pitiful amounts of vegan food available at non-vegan fast food places.

Seriously, didn’t these guys get the memo?

Luckily though, it makes it easier to do these types of posts because it takes way less time to research the ingredients than it does for the Surprising Vegan series.

AterImber.com - The Veg Life - Vegan Fast Food Series - A&W Edition - vegan fast food, vegan food, fast food, a&w, takeout

Starting in the top left corner, going clockwise:

  • Beyond Meat Burger*
  • Beyond Sausage and Egger*
  • Russet Thick Cut Fries
  • Sweet Potato Fries
  • Root Beer Lollipops**
  • Root Beer**
  • Coca-Cola**
  • Iced Tea
  • Sprite
  • Apple Juice
  • Orange Juice
  • Lemonade***

*In case you missed it when it was announced, the Beyond Meat burger is not vegan upon ordering. You need to clarify that you would like it with out the mayo or mustard.

The Beyond Sausage and Egger is also (unfortunately) not vegan upon ordering. For the Sausage and Egger, you actually have to ask them to hold the egg and cheese. The margarine they use is actually vegan-friendly! And, you can also always get the Beyond Meat Sausage and Veggie instead. (That one the whole thing is vegan, but it’s listed on the website under the Beyond Sausage and Egger)

**Okay, so this is a bit of a weird thing I discovered. For the Root Beer, it listed ‘Colour (Caramel IV)’ and me being the curious person I am, decided to Google what that was. In my Googling (it was actually pretty much the first thing that popped up) I discovered that this colouring wasn’t vegan, either. (If you don’t feel like clicking through, it was tested on rats and mice to see if it was toxic)

Some of the other names this Caramel IV goes by include:

  • Caramel Colour
  • Ammonia sulfite process caramel
  • Sulfite ammonia caramel
  • Sulfite ammonia process caramel
  • Acid-proof caramel
  • Beverage caramel
  • Soft-drink caramel

I’ll sadly be adding this to the list of other food dyes that are tested on animals and doing my best to avoid it. (Thank God I don’t drink pop!)

*** The Lemonade is vegan, but there was no picture available.

Well there you go!

There’s juuuust enough vegan food available so that you won’t starve if there’s nothing else around. And hey, at least they’ve got a burger option now!


Like this article? Check out more here!

Liking the site? Consider signing up for my Patreon, so I can continue bringing you the content you love!